Give Someone Else a Shot at the Vaccine

Cancel an Appointment When You Won’t Make It

Yve Laran

--

Photo by Alex Mecl on Unsplash

I’ve been eligible to take the Covid-19 vaccine since the middle of February and appreciate that my healthcare provider e-mailed to advise I could receive the vaccine. Scheduling a vaccination appointment was next to impossible, however, in the New York City — Metro area.

I bided my time and was patient in checking for availability. Every day I would log on to New York State’s Covid-19 website, and every day, I’d see that I could make an appointment…if I wanted to travel 250 to 400 miles away from where I live.

I finally scheduled an appointment on April 1st, for April 27th, a mere 150 miles from home. I was not happy about it but made the appointment anyway, hoping I would find something closer to my suburb before the end of the month.

The miracle happened yesterday afternoon when I was able to schedule a last-minute appointment a few blocks away. I was able to book the two appointments I needed for the Pfizer vaccine and have received my first shot.

After I received confirmation of the appointments by email, I called the New York State Covid-19 hotline to cancel my original April 27th appointment. When I spoke to the hotline representative, she thanked me for calling to cancel. I asked her if she has…

--

--

Yve Laran

Bibliophile, Writer and Blogger at yve.laran@wordpress.com. Podcaster on Spotify as Yve Laran. Master’s=Political; Bachelor’s=Musical