The Value of Life

Yve Laran
2 min readFeb 20, 2022

Does Your Opinion Buck the Tide of the Popular?

Photo by Valentyn Chernetskyi on Unsplash

Working from home has its advantages and disadvantages.

I go for a long time not hearing another person’s voice, and I’m not speaking to others because I’m on the laptop all day, sorting through the tasks I need to complete.

I was finally tired of the silence and turned the television to cable news.

The pundits were discussing the possibility of Russia invading Ukraine. I thought about war and was appalled when the discussion turned to how disastrous war would be because energy prices would be disrupted.

I had to stop listening.

I thought and even said out loud to the television that war would be disastrous because people will die.

That’s what the pundits need to focus on, and while they were sitting comfortably in their anchor chairs, they were not discussing that point.

How about considering that war would be a disaster because people will lose their homes? Their safety? Their way of life? The ability to spend time with family, friends, and loved ones?

Sometimes I think Western and European values have strayed so far from those of our forefathers during World War II. I also think we haven’t learned anything from Covid-19. We have had a massive challenge to face…

--

--

Yve Laran

Bibliophile, Writer and Blogger at yve.laran@wordpress.com. Podcaster on Spotify as Yve Laran. Master’s=Political; Bachelor’s=Musical